Today has been difficult. I was working so I didn’t really get a chance to eat a solid breakfast or lunch, although I did get to munch on some leftovers from yesterday.

It’s mostly been hard because I started getting headaches last night after posting about Day 2. I also woke up at 3 am drenched in sweat. I had been having hot flashes (keep in mind I’m 26, so we’re not talking menopausal… I hope.) the day and night before but hadn’t realized that they might actually be related to the Whole30. But today I’m certain of it. I’ve been having these temperature spikes all day whether its stress induced or just hits me. My hips have also been feeling much tighter and sore than usual.

After experiencing all of these withdrawal symptoms, I started googling and found out about something called the Carb Flu. These flu-like symptoms hit you while your body is transitioning to a strict paleo diet. It can be achey body (check), headaches (check), moodiness (check), shakiness and fatigue (check and double check). I’ve always been very conscious of what I put in my body, so I didn’t think that this transition would be as tough as it has become, but I’m certain that I will get through it and feel better soon. A lot of the posts I’ve seen say that the Carb Flu may last up to two weeks, but once you get through it you feel amazing, so that’s what I’m planning on.

To combat the sugar and carb with drawl I made a sweet potato with coconut butter, ghee, cinnamon, nutmeg, coconut flakes, and a touch of sea salt for minerals, along with a GT Original Kombucha, so I’m hoping that these few naturally occurring sugars and starches with help my body chill the eff out!! (There’s that moodiness…)

Baked sweet potato with coconut butter, ghee, cinnamon, nutmeg, coconut flakes and a touch of sea salt.

Baked sweet potato with coconut butter, ghee, cinnamon, nutmeg, coconut flakes and a touch of sea salt.

I also made chicken liver and onions, both just flavored with salt, pepper, garlic, and ghee for a little extra nutrient dense snack.

Chicken livers and onions sautéed in salt, pepper, garlic, and ghee.

Chicken livers and onions sautéed in salt, pepper, garlic, and ghee.

For dinner I went to a friend’s house. I was sad that I couldn’t partake in their creamy dressed shrimp salad, so they helped me make my own Whole30 kosher salad on the side. Their dressing had homemade mayo (but the mustard had white wine in it) and yoghurt, so that was a no-go. My little salad was so perfect for dinner, though, and I barely missed the glass of white wine along with dinner or chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream for dessert.

Shrimp salad with grapefruit, avocado, cherry tomatoes, salted cucumbers, red onion, cilantro, Bragg's Apple Cider Vinegar, olive oil, and fresh ground pepper.

Shrimp salad with grapefruit, avocado, cherry tomatoes, salted cucumbers, red onion, cilantro, Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar, olive oil, and fresh ground pepper.

Now to permit myself a good night sleep and hopefully no waking up sweaty!! Good Night, blog land!