Day 2 was great since I only had my three yoga classes to teach and no work at MOMs, although I did go in for some grocery shopping!

I taught class at 6am this morning and had a meeting with the studio owner right after, so I was lucky to find a few carrots left in my bag from the night before.

When I got home I was starving! Not only had I not eaten, but I had worked my butt off with my students so I’m pretty sure I was down a few hundred calories.

When I got home I was so happy to have my hard boiled eggs ready to go and ate one of those along with the rest of my champagne grapes and some turkey bologna.

After my shower I hit the butcher shop in town. I’d never been before, but I was on a quest for bacon with no sugar and I had heard some good things about this place. When I went in I asked about the bacon, but it all had sugar… So, I asked if he had any pork belly. It was frozen solid in the freezer since he had just gotten it in… No pork for me… Instead I picked up a hanger steak and some chicken livers.

(If anyone knows of any good sugar-free bacon near DC, please let me know!!)

Next, I went to MOMs and picked up some produce. I got lime, cilantro, red onion, red pepper, poblano pepper, cherry tomatoes, crimini mushrooms, and berries. I also picked up some snack time items like flaked coconut and roasted and salted pistachios along with some Whole30 approved Applegate cold cuts and freshly ground Equal Exchange Peruvian Coffee.

The hanger steak rubbed with coconut oil, salt, pepper, and chili powder.

The hanger steak rubbed with coconut oil, salt, pepper, and chili powder.

I have never cooked steak before so this was a bit of an endeavor for me, but ultimately it was super easy and kind of amazing!

First, oiled my pan and steak on both sides with coconut oil and then rubbed the hanger steak with salt, pepper, and chili powder and finished it off with a drizzle of fresh lime juice. Then, around the pan I added a whole poblano pepper to roast, thickly sliced red onion, sliced red pepper, some halved crimini mushrooms, cherry tomatoes and crushed garlic cloves.

Pre-broiled.

Pre-broiled.

I wasn’t so sure how long to cook the steak for so I started off with 2 minutes in the broiler (I like my steak very rare), but that did not look nearly long enough so I flipped it and did 5 minutes and then flipped it again for another 5, so 12 minutes all together. For a 1 1/2 inch thick steak, it worked. It turned out perfectly!

I let the steak rest for 10 minutes and then thinly sliced it against the grain. It was beautiful! It was perfect!

Perfectly rare. Yes, you may drool.

Perfectly rare. Yes, you may drool.

After slicing, I mixed the steak back into the fajita veggies, added another fresh squeeze of lime and served it up on the plate with a fresh avocado and garnished it with cilantro. It was bangin’! AND I have enough left over for at least 2 more meals!! Woot!

I remembered the cilantro after the photo, but seriously, how amazing does that look!?

I remembered the cilantro after the photo, but seriously, how amazing does that look!?

For my post-lunch, pre-yoga snack I also devised a delicious berry salad! Blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries with chia seeds and coconut flakes. My sweet tooth is 100% satisfied!

Berries with chia seeds and coconut flakes!

Berries with chia seeds and coconut flakes!

I so completely appreciated having more time to cook and eat today! Day 2 was a complete success!! I hope you enjoy these recipes, too!!