I’m so sorry I’ve been away from the blog for so long! Life has gotten a tad bit crazy with the start of Fall just on the horizon! So, I’m going to take a moment to breathe and go back to my amazing foodcation because I promised M. I would write about oysters!

I only started eating oysters over the past two years or so when I started dating my boyfriend. While he doesn’t like the slippery little buggers, his parents love oysters and his sister works at Hank’s Oyster Bar in Alexandria, VA, so family dinner equals oysters quite frequently.

While staying at the beach, the girls and I went out for oysters. Being M.’s first time eating oysters, we proceeded to order oysters in all formats– raw, broiled, and shooters. Well, she loved them, and we put away a good number of those guys!

Oysters are an excellent source of vitamins A, B1 (thiamin) B2(riboflavin), B3 (niacin), C (ascorbic acid), and D (calciferol). Four or five medium size oysters supplies the recommended daily allowance of iron, copper, iodine, magnesium, calcium, zinc, manganese and phosphorus. Everyone should be eating more oysters because so many of us are mineral deficient! Oysters are great for eye health, getting rid of the white spots on your nails, and keeping your hair and skin healthy along with a  of benefits.

While I generally recommend eating wild caught seafood, I support eating farm raised oysters. Almost 85% of natural occurring oyster reefs have been destroyed due to crabs and other invasive aquatic life. Plus, oysters and other shellfish are filters, and getting them from a source with clean water is a must!

Bon Appetit!

 

Me and the girls at the oyster bar!

 

Sources: salishseafood.com