Today I went to the dentist. I’ve never had very good teeth. I’ve had frequent cavities and my orthodontia history is known to make some people squeamish. However, today the dentist told me something that caught me off guard. He said my teeth look terrific! 

I haven’t been to the dentist since just before the 2011 Weston A. Price conference where I was lucky enough to be educated about the importance of a diet rich in minerals and nutrient dense foods. Since then I’ve really been laying on the good stuff,and now I’ve begun to wonder if my good report with the dentist may be due to my recent change in diet.

I started to scour my mom’s bookcase at home (it’s like my private reference library) and found the book, “Cure Tooth Decay” by Ramiel Nagel, who as it turns out even has his own website, www.curetoothdecay.com, dedicated to the message of his book. Much of what he says you can do to restore your teeth to optimal health by following the advise of the Weston A. Price Foundation, and Nagel even references Dr. Price’s work researching the primitive peoples’ dental health around the world.

Since returning from the conference in Dallas, I have  increased my consumption of raw dairy and have been making bone broths fairly regularly. Both of these are tactics Nagel recommends to begin to rebuild the structure of our teeth. Could it be that my change in diet has been unintentionally enhancing my dental health? I know that I’ve definitely struggled with steering clear of the cavity causing sugar and carbohydrates, especially in the midst of Girl Scout cookie season.

I wouldn’t say I’m 100% cured of any type of dental decay, my teeth still have some sensitivity, but if you have issues with your dental health, don’t lose hope! You are what you eat and if your are deficient in minerals there are delicious steps you can take!