Hello.

Everyone has their food wars. Some parents fight to have their kids eat their veggies. Some people fight their sugar cravings. Some people have to fight for information about ingredients to make sure that they won’t break out in hives. My family has become part of the fight against strict government regulations of small farmers, just for the right to buy the food that we want.

I grew up in a household that was pretty “normal.” We ate Cheerios, my dad always had Pepsi in the house, and Dove was my mom’s favorite candy bar. But after Cheerios reported a pesticide scare and my mom, after hours on hold and talking to supervisors,  couldn’t get the information on whether or not my box was contaminated, there was a change in the pantry. No more General Mills. Then, after 3 years abroad for work, my family realized the food here in the U.S. didn’t taste as good. It was much more processed. My mom started shopping at Fresh Fields (now Whole Foods) and organic became a requirement to make it on our pantry and refrigerator shelves.

Soon, in highschool, my mom joined The Weston A. Price Foundation and discovered the beneficial qualities of raw milk.

The short version here is: When milk goes through the pasteurization process, both the bad and GOOD bacteria are killed off. The good bacteria is what makes it easy for our bodies to breakdown nutrients and digest milk in a beneficial way and the good definitely out weighs the miniscule chance of there being bad bacteria. So raw milk from clean facilities is super healthy and puts less stress on your digestive system.

My mom’s milk source in Maryland was shut down (it is illegal to buy, sell, or distribute raw milk in the state of Maryland). It also happens to be illegal to bring raw milk into Maryland over state lines. So the only option my mom saw was to become a milk smuggler and she has been ever since.

Our  fight has since grown from just raw milk and is now also grass-fed, free range animals, and getting away from unlabled GMOs. These are all healthy, happy, conscious foods. Why our government wants to make it harder and more expensive for us to purchase these items, I don’t understand, but hopefully as the movement grows and Americans become for concerned with what they are actually putting in their bodies, we will see a change in small business agriculture.